Club Road Championship Titles Snatched

The City of Preston 10k was the setting as the club’s road championship came to end with Emma Essex-Crosby and Simon Collins securing the points they needed to snatch the men’s and women’s open category titles on the last day of season, with both athletes claiming their second championship titles. Mariusz Kovacs did enough to leapfrog his way into third place in the men’s open category and Neil McDonald got the points he needed to defend his men’s vet-50 category title.

Over 100 harriers competed in championship qualifying races, which began with the Ribble Valley 10k and saw runners taking on a variety of races from across the North West ranging from 5k to the half marathon. Alongside Emma, Neil and Simon, Andy Whaley successfully defended his men’s vet-40 category title, Julie Tyrer who won her second women’s vet-40 title, Susan Ashcroft who won the women’s vet-50 category, Alan Appleby won his fourth men’s vet-60 title and Maureen Kirkby who defended her women’s vet-60 category.

The full list of prize winners is as follows; Men’s open 1 Simon Collins 2 Andy Whaley 3 Mariusz Kovacs

Women’s open 1 Emma Essex-Crosby 2 Julie Tyrer 3 Jade Bebbington

Vet-40 Andy Whaley and Julie Tyrer Vet-50 Neil McDonald and Susan Ashcroft Vet-60 Alan Appleby and Maureen Kirkby

0 views0 comments