top of page

Paddy’s Pole Fell Race

Tue 18 June 2019, Chipping Chris Holdsworth of Ribble Valley H. was the clear winner of Paddys Pole Fell Race, organised by Preston Harriers. He ran the 6k course with 336m of climb, from Fell Foot to Fair Snape Fell and returning over Parlick, in an excellent time of 27:42, which was only 1 sec slower than his winning time of 2018. In second place was 2012 winner Darren Kay (Vet 45) from Calder Valley Fell Runners in 28:09. Third place went to Sam Harrison (Bowland FR) in 29:16.

It was a perfect, still evening for the race, with clear views from the fell across Morecambe Bay, to the Isle of Man and the Lake District hills. The marshals were thankful that, for this year only, the race date had been changed. 2 weeks earlier, on the original date, heavy rain and mist covered the summits.

First lady in 26th place was Amy Freeman (Darwen Dashers RC) in 35:16, followed by the Lonsdale FR pair of Claire Nance, 34th in 35:59 and Ellie Mather, 38th in 36:27. Nickey Russell (Bowland FR), 40th in 36:54 was first FV40.

Leading Harrier was veteran fell runner Jon Green, 12th place in 31.32. He was followed home, in his first proper fell race, by Simon Robinson, 25th in 35:07. First Harrier lady was Katey Foster, 51st in 38:19 followed by Jenny Wren, 63rd in 40:21 and Kate Lakeland, 82nd in 44:18. This trio making it a home ladies team win for Preston Harriers. Other Harrier finishers were Olga Wiggins (FV40), 94th in 49:01 and Pete McDermott (MV70), 103rd in 58.12.

The prize giving took place at the Sun Inn at Chipping where the race entry fee included a pasta supper. Race organiser, Gordon Thompson started by thanking the landowners ‘for owning the land and letting us run on it’. He went on to thank all the runners, race marshals, staff at The Sun and Pete Marquis for providing a portable toilet at Fell Foot.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Interclub (Road) Prizes

The DW IC Presentation will be made next Thursday after the Interclub race at Lytham St Annes race. Those with prizes are: Sam Evans Luke Suffolk David Watson Gary Wilson David Lea Alan Appleby Cathy


bottom of page