top of page

Preston 10 Road Race

Sun 18 November 2018, Hutton

The 37th Preston 10 race took place in ideal weather, with bright sunshine and only light winds. This year’s race was sponsored by Pete Bland Sports, Tesco Leyland Extra and Eyesentials Opticians of Leyland and it attracted more than 500 runners from around the North West and beyond.

A group of 5 broke away on the first of two laps, but by the second lap, Tim Raynes of Blackburn Harriers and Adam Sciacca of Sale were locked in battle at the front of the field with Wesham’s Rob Danson chasing hard from behind. Raynes won the race in an excellent time of 52.11, with Danson pushing through to claim second in 52.37 and Sciacca settling for third place in 52.43. Thirty-two runners broke the hour, including the first lady, Liz Abbott of Lytham St Anne’s Road Runners, who clocked 59.35.

First Harrier to finish was Wesley Wilkinson in 59.12. He was followed by Chris Wales (62.56), Stephen Young (63.31), Mariusz Kovacs (64.21), Peter Cowling (66.14), Neil McDonald (67.53), Steve Hallas (68.14), Craig McDougall (72.42), Ian Palfrey (74.42), Andrew Tranter (74.41) Ian Patterson (1:27:15), Bill Topping (1:27:05) and Andy Lea ((1:34;09). Harrier ladies who ran were Laura Conn (1:19:36), Jade Bebbington (1:22:55) and Julie Tyrer (1:31:33).

Preston Harriers thank all who ran and all the supporters and volunteers who made the race such a success and we look forward to welcoming you all again for the 38th edition next year.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Interclub (Road) Prizes

The DW IC Presentation will be made next Thursday after the Interclub race at Lytham St Annes race. Those with prizes are: Sam Evans Luke Suffolk David Watson Gary Wilson David Lea Alan Appleby Cathy


bottom of page