top of page

Preston 10 Road Race

Sun 17 Nov 2019, Hutton Weather conditions were almost ideal for the 38th edition of the popular Preston 10, promoted by Preston Harriers, with virtually no wind and just a slight dampness in the air. This year’s event incorporated the Northern championships, Lancashire championships and Fire Service championships, and this was reflected in the quality of the field.

Matthew Crehan of Sutton St Helens AC made an early bid for victory, but he was reeled in by Welsh international Andrew Davies of Stockport Harriers, who went on to win in 49:10, with Crehan 22 seconds behind in 2nd place. First Harrier to finish was Andy Benson, who placed 5th in 50:57 and earned a bronze medal in the Lancashire championships. Preston Harriers were the first men’s team, and the other counters were Niall Malone in 17th place (54:41) and Rob Affleck (55:32, 1st MV45). Preston also won the Lancashire veteran male team prize. Other members of Preston Harriers who ran the race were Simon Collins (56:52), Chris Wales (61:47), Marius Kovacs (62:46), Alan Metcalf (64:46), Chris Williams (68:00), Chris Wilson (68:37), Peter Cowling (68:55), William Johnstone (70:35), Ken Beazley (70:45), Dougie Potter (71:53), Andrew Tranter (71:36),Craig Walker (72:36), Maciej Jarno (81:56), Ian Patterson (85:14) and Zawar Khan (86:38).

The women’s winner, Elinor Kirk of Swansea Harriers, is also a Welsh international runner and she beat Emily Japp of Blackpool by nearly a minute. Katey Markland led the female Harriers home in 71:05 and she was closely followed by Becky Taylor (73:35) and Laura Conn (75:37), performances which won them a silver medal in the Lancashire championships. Sarah Wilson (79:49),Julie Tyrer (88:14), Shelley Audis-Riddell (97:00), Helen Boyer (1:49:32)and Harriet Gornall (1:58:03) also ran. There were 397 finishers.

Preston Harriers would like to thank all who helped on the day and race sponsors Pete Bland Sports, Tesco, Hang Your Gong medal hangers and Run 3D.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Interclub (Road) Prizes

The DW IC Presentation will be made next Thursday after the Interclub race at Lytham St Annes race. Those with prizes are: Sam Evans Luke Suffolk David Watson Gary Wilson David Lea Alan Appleby Cathy


bottom of page