top of page

Road Championship Season Finale

Kirkby Milers 10 Mile Road Race, Sun 7 Oct 2018

The Kirkby Milers’ safari 10 miler was the setting for the final showdown of the road championship, with three of the four Harrier women in the running for the ladies open championship in attendance: Jade Bebbington, Dorothy Parkes and Julie Tyrer. However, it was Laura Conn, who has run well over the summer and will no doubt only get better, who was first lady home in a great time of 1hr15 to finishing 14th in the women’s race on the day. Jade (1hr21) was next in, taking 50 championship points and sealing the open title. Well done Jade! She was followed in by Dorothy (1hr25) who takes second in the open champs, then came Felicity Cross (1hr29), who won the women’s vet-60 category race day prize. Julie crossed the line in 1hr30 to take third place in the club’s women’s open champs and Sue Wickham, who won the club’s vet-50 category, finished in 1hr36.

Six Harriers lined up in the men’s race with Simon Collins (1hr01) and champion-elect Karl Hodgson (1hr03) the first two home, with Simon finishing 10th in the race and claiming the championship points he needed to take second in the men’s open category. Andrew Acklam (1hr08) was next in, followed by Ian Bebbington (1hr21), Ian Patterson (1hr25) who takes third place in the vet-40 champs and Stephen Parkes (1hr44).

This was only the second running of this event and it is proving itself to be a popular one, well organised, with good support, plenty of parking and onsite facilities for runners with an undulating course well suited for racing. Good one to consider for 2019!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Interclub (Road) Prizes

The DW IC Presentation will be made next Thursday after the Interclub race at Lytham St Annes race. Those with prizes are: Sam Evans Luke Suffolk David Watson Gary Wilson David Lea Alan Appleby Cathy


bottom of page